3 community leaders join SSMEDC Board


Three community leaders have joined the Board of Directors for the Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation (SSMEDC). Following the organization’s annual general meeting earlier today, the following people were elected to the volunteer Board:

Paul Skeggs is a lawyer with Skeggs Paciocco Lawyers LLP. He sits on the Board of Directors for the Sault Ste. Marie Chamber of Commerce, is Chair of the Strive Young Professionals Group, and Past-President of the Algoma University Alumni Council.

Frank O’Connor is the owner of The Voyageurs’ Lodge & Cookhouse, a four-season destination resort. He’s also a Professor in the Business Department at Sault College.

Bill Freiburger is the former Commissioner of the Finance Department for the City of Sault Ste. Marie. He retired in 2015 following more than 30 years of Municipal service.

Also at today’s annual general meeting, SSMEDC Past President Greg Punch retired from the Board of Directors following 14 years of volunteer service. Another longtime SSMEDC Board member, Albert Giommi, retired from his position earlier this year.

The Sault Ste. Marie Economic Development Corporation is a non-profit organization governed by a Board of Directors consisting of business and community leaders. The Board is a dedicated group of volunteers who commit thousands of hours annually to the governance, planning and administration of the corporation. With changes to the Executive Committee, the SSMEDC Board now consists of:

Robert Reid (President): Owner, N-Sci Technologies Inc.

Don Mitchell (Past President): Vice-President of Commercial Lines/Partner, Algoma Insurance Group

Terry Rainone (First Vice-President): President, Palmer Construction Group and McRain Developments

Donna Hilsinger (Secretary): General Manager, Algoma’s Water Tower Inn & Suites

Lori Naccarato (Treasurer): Senior Account Manager, Business Development Bank of Canada

Bill Freiburger: Commissioner of Finance (retired), City of Sault Ste. Marie

Christiane Husemann: Real Estate Broker, Royal LePage Northern Advantage

Geoff Meakin: President, Meakin Contracting

John Martella: Northern Ontario District Manager, Green For Life

Frank O’Connor: Owner, The Voyageurs’ Lodge & Cookhouse

Brian Robertson: President (retired), Royal Tire

Pramod Shukla: Chief Operating Officer, Essar Steel Algoma

Paul Skeggs: Lawyer, Skeggs Paciocco Lawyers LLP

Kevin Wyer (Chair of Tourism SSM): General Manager, Delta Sault Ste. Marie Waterfront Hotel

Sandra Hollingsworth: Ward 2 City Councillor

Mayor Christian Provenzano (Ex-Officio)

Liaison Members:

Dr. Ron Common: President, Sault College

Dr. Craig Chamberlin: President, Algoma University

Dan Friyia: Executive Director, Community Development Corporation of Sault Ste. Marie & Area

Rory Ring: Executive Director, Sault Ste. Marie Chamber of Commerce


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here