Current Fire Bans Issued

fire ban

Due to the extreme fire hazard, several recent periods of heavy lightning and the large number of wildfires burning, fire bans have been issued in much of Northeastern Ontario, including the Algoma region.

Johnson Township

Effective Saturday, July 7th 2018 The Township of Johnson has issued a fire ban and all current burning permits are suspended.

This ban includes the prohibition of all outdoor fires including fireworks and pyrotechnics. Conditions are sufficiently dry and impose a higher than usual risk of forest fires. Anyone who contravenes a fire ban is liable to a fine, and whatever cost that are associated with extinguishing this unlawful fire.

Click here for more information.

Municipality of Huron Shores

Due to the current dry conditions, effective immediately and until further notice, the Huron Shores Fire Department is imposing a Fire Ban. Small, contained fires for cooking and/or warmth are allowed, however, under Section 1.3 of the Open Air Burning By-law (By-law #14-08), fireworks are NOT permitted.

Open Air Burning Permits are not required for “campfires”, also defined under By-law #14-08, as being a small, contained fire, no greater than 1 metre in diameter with the flames to be no higher than 1 metre (this does not include large bonfires or brush fires).  Under Huron Shores’ current Open Air Burning By-law, campfires ARE permitted when a Fire Ban is imposed.

For more information with respect to Fire Bans and infractions of the by-law, please contact the Municipal Office at 705-843-2033, or visit the Fire Department page.

By-laws governing open air burning vary from municipality to municipality. If you are unsure of the by-law in your community, contact your municipal office prior to burning.

For more information on Ontario’s fire restrictions and the state of the 61-wildfires currently active in Northeastern Ontario, click here.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here