Hughes Recognizes Award-wining Family Doctors

Carol Hughes, MP
Carol Hughes, MP

Two award-winning family doctors that practice in Algoma-Manitoulin-Kapuskasing were recognized for their achievements in parliament by MP, Carol Hughes.

Hughes’ statement noted their accomplishments and also acknowledged the crucial role family doctor’s play in a community’s well-being.

“Dr. Lianne Gauvin from Hearst received the Community Teachers of the Year Award from the Ontario College of Family Physicians which recognizes the excellence of a community family medicine supervisor for work with students and medical residents,” said Hughes. “Dr. Gauvin was nominated by her students who praised her exemplary empathy towards her patients.”

“In rural and northern Canada family doctors play a big role in the health of our communities, so it’s nice when their hard work is acknowledged,” said Hughes.

“That is also the case for Little Current’s Dr. Dieter Poenn who has been recognized by the College as a Family Physician of the year – the highest honour presented to a family doctor who makes a significant impact for their patients,” said Hughes.  “The award is no surprise to Dr. Poenn’s colleagues who testify to his skill as a physician, leader, educator, and note that he also serves as Coroner for the region.”

Hughes was joined by MPS on all sides of the House in thanking Dr. Gauvin and Dr. Poenn for their dedication and congratulating them on their awards.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here